University of Algarve

About us

The University of Algarve is the resulted union from two previously existing institutions: the University of Algarve, created on March 28, 1979 and the Polytechnic Institute of Faro, created on December 26, 1979. The University of Algarve it is, therefore, an institution different from the other Universities, given that Organic Units of University Higher Education and Polytechnic Higher Education coexist within it.

With more than 30 years of service to the community, the University of Algarve (UAlg), composed of four campuses, three in the city of Faro and one in Portimão, has consolidated its development, both in structural and administrative terms, and in terms of academic and pedagogical, currently with ample spaces, infrastructures and equipment that provide excellent conditions for study, work, research and socialization.

UAlg offers its students courses in six thematic areas: Arts, Literature and History; Health Sciences and Technologies; Basic and Engineering Sciences; Social Sciences, Education and Training; Life, Earth, Sea and Environmental Sciences; and Economy, Management and Tourism. The trainings in these areas cover the degrees of bachelor, master and doctor.